The success of ICChE 2020

The inauguration ceremony of ‘Sixth International Conference on Chemical Engineering ‘ (ICChE 2020) organized by the department of chemical engineering, BUET was held virtually on 19 December, 2020. The program was inaugurated by Professor Dr. Satya Prasad Majumder, Honorable Vice Chancellor, BUET, who was present as the Chief Guest. The conference chair Prof. Dr. Rafiqul Gani, 3rd M A Naser Chair, BUET and former Professor of T U Denmark and Co-founder & President of, PSE for SPEED Company, joined from Denmark and presented the welcome speech. Professor Dr. Iqbal Mahmud, Professor Emeritus & Ex-Vice Chancellor, BUET graced the occasion as the Special Guest. Engr. Jawaherul Ghani, Managing Director, Modern Erection Limited and member, ICChE 2020 steering committee also spoke on the occasion. Prof. Dr. Syeda Sultana Razia, Head of the Chemical Engineering Department, BUET presented conference highlights and facilitated the ceremony. At the end of the inaugural session Professor (Rtd.) Dr. A. K. M. A Quader, Department of Chemical Engineering, BUET gave the first plenary lecture.

The ‘Sixth International Conference on Chemical Engineering ‘ (ICChE 2020), held from 19-22 December, 2020, were attended by more than 250 participants from industry and academia, who convened in an online platform in real time to find solutions of the grand challenges facing the world in terms of energy, water, food, health-safety and environment. Around 130 papers and posters were presented by the researchers and practitioners in the fields on Chemical and allied Engineering from home and abroad in the conference.

Some of the world’s leading researchers joined the conference to deliver plenary and keynote lectures. The list includes Prof. Stratos Pistikopoulos, Texas A&M University, USA, Prof Venkat Venkatasubramanian, Columbia University, USA, Prof Saad A. Khan, North Carolina State University, USA, Prof Marc-Olivier Coppens, University College London, UK, Prof Iqbal M Mujtaba, University of Bradford, UK, Prof Raman Singh, Monash University, Australia, Prof. André Bardow, ETH Zürich, Switzerland, Prof. Mauricio Sales-Cruz, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana Cuajimalpa, Mexico and Prof Hesham A. El Enshasy, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM). Also, distinguished BUET-ChE alumni Prof Md Zahangir Alam, IIUM, Malaysia, Dr. M. M. Faruque Hasan, Texas A&M University, USA, Dr. Nirupam Aich, The State University of New York (SUNY), USA and Dr. Toufiq Reza, Florida Institute of Technology, USA and Head, Department of Chemical Engineering and Polymer Science, SUST, Bangladesh Prof Abu Yusuf were invited to present keynote lectures.

The conference was sponsored by the PSE for SPEED Company, Denmark-Thailand and University Grant Commission (UGC), Bangladesh.